UKG Classix Vol.12

The first tune in the mix is Movin On by DB (Daryl Bryant) Featuring Jo Bryant on vocals. Released in 1998 on UK Garage label Fifty First Recordings. This was the intro track on the Twice As Nice CD compilation mixed by UKG legend DJ Spoony.

The second tune in the mix was also the second tune on the compilation. Another tune that was released in 98, You Give Me by Logo which was mixed by Andy Mowat and Andy Lewis. I remember this being quite a hard tune to track down back in the day, and is currently on Discogs for £30 pounds.

Groove in Motion - Be The One is next up, and I remember buying this tune from Release The Groove in the West End on a record buying expedition a long time ago. Released on the Dreem Teem’s record label DFL (DJ’s For Life) in 1998, and was arranged and mixed by Mark Yardley.

The fourth UK Garage classic in the mix was released on 500 ReKorDs in 1998. Sweet DJ Release by UK Garage pioneers New Horizons is a personal favourite of mine (but then again so are the rest of the tunes in the mix).

Next up is Friendly Pressure by Jhelisa, a track that was originally released in 94, but the remix that features on this volume is by UKG pioneer Sunship (Ceri Evans). The From "The Midnight Mix" was one of two remixes that Sunship did of Friendly Pressure and the other remix called the Into "The Sunshine Mix" will feature on a future mix of UKG Classix.

The final track in the mix is You’re Mine by Guy S’mone, which was produced by none other than MJ Cole and was also released Cole’s UK Garage label Prolific Recordings in 1998. One of strongest vocal track’s produced for the UKG scene, and MJ Cole would also remix Guy S’mone’s track Lazy in 1999.

Listen to the next volume of UKG Classix here.